The official date of formation of FK Austria Wien is the 15th March 1911. The club was already in existence before that date. As early as 1892 there was the Vienna Cricket Club that was involved in cricket, athletics, and other types of sports and they established a football section in 1894. Together with the First Vienna Football Club, today’s FC Vienna, it dominated the Austrian football scene for more than a decade. Both teams had fantastic players that copied all tricks from the English employees of Baron Rothschild and even incorporated new tricks and ideas which could be called the forerunners of the famous Vienna School. After differences between the club administration and its members some officials and almost the whole first team of the cricketers decided to create a new club.

The new club was founded with the sport journalist Erwin Müller as its president. The colour of the club was decided on quickly, the decision about the name was cause of differences. On the 29th of October the club was registered as “Vienna Cricketers”. Due to financial difficulties and low numbers of spectators, the President Doctor Abeles adopted the English points system in the hope to make the games more attractive.

Erwin Müller and his chairman were aware that survival of the club as well as admission to the top level was only possible when they reconciled with the cricketers and registered with the Austrian Football Association. After long negotiations the Vienna Amateur Sports Club joined the Austrian Football Association and was immediately admitted to the top league. When they first appeared in public the first team was able to put on the violet dress. The chronicles list the first players of the Amateurs: Prager, Bauer, Hussak, Metzl, Alt, Lowe, Preiß, Klement, V. Löwenfeld, Fuchs, R. Löwenfeld und Lang. Hussak was the captain of the team.

Pl. Mannschaft Spiele Pkt
1. FC Red Bull Salzburg 12 25
2. SK Puntigamer Sturm Graz 11 24
3. LASK 12 24
4. SK Rapid Wien 12 24
5. WSG Swarovski Tirol 12 17
6. RZ Pellets WAC 11 16
7. spusu SKN St. Pölten 12 15
8. TSV Prolactal Hartberg 12 14
9. SV Guntamatic Ried 12 13
10. FK Austria Wien 12 11
11. CASHPOINT SCR Altach 12 8
12. FC Flyeralarm Admira 12 7
» zur Gesamttabelle